M.I.B. (ex-GESVAB)
Molecules with Biological Interest

The research activities of the MIB (Molécules d’Intérêt Biologique) group are organized along three main axes:

1. Analysis of grapevine and wine polyphenols 
2. Study of these compounds in relation to the defence of grapevine towards diseases  
3. Impact of these compounds on Human Health


1. Analysis of grapevine and wine polyphenols
   
 
Grapevines and wines are a particularly good source of polyphenols. Their isolation and identification represents a major scientific challenge to which the MIB group aims to contribute. We characterize different families of polyphenols from grapevine and wine like anthocyanins , flavanols, flavonols, or –specially- stilbenes.

For several years, our efforts have also been directed towards the development of new methodologies of analysis and production of these compounds, mainly by using Centrifugal Partition Chromatography (CPC) and Liquid Chromatography, frequently hyphenated with Mass Spectrometry and NMR. Our research contributes to a better characterization of the stilbenes and other polyphenols found in the grapevine and the wine. Additionally, our work allows us to obtain high amounts of pure molecules or extracts that can be used for biological studies in the laboratories of the MIB or in collaboration with other partners.

On the other hand; in coordination with the VRAI project, we evaluate the feasibility of using the stilbenes as markers of wine authenticity. 


 

       

 
   
 
Study of these compounds in relation to the defence of grapevine towards diseases

Grapevine can be affected by multiple diseases that can influence the yield production and the quality of the final wine. Nowadays, the common control of pathogen agents relies on the massive utilisation of fungicides. In order to reduce the abuse of phytosanitary products in the vineyards, the development of alternative strategies of plant protection should be addressed. Our strategy prioritizes two approaches: 

1) the stimulation of the plant natural defence mechanisms by using elicitor molecules. The effects on the grapevine are measured by transcriptomics and metabolomics, especially in relation to the polyphenols (including the stilbenes). 

2) The utilisation of natural compounds with antimicrobial activities. These molecules can be of major interest because of their diversity in mechanisms of action. We provide major interest to the polyphenols , like stilbenes , obtained from viticultural and oenological by-products or from the woody parts of the plant. We analyze their biological activity against certain plant diseases - mainly against mildew, but also against odium and against the grapevine trunk diseases. The impact of such treatments on the plant physiology is evaluated. 

In both cases, we have verified the results of an improved protection against the grapevine major diseases, like mildew. In the context of a sustainable agriculture, these results can be extremely important, since they could lead to a reduction of the impact of pesticides use. 

Besides, and by using grape cellular cultures, we can 1) infer the signal pathways and understand the action mechanisms of environmental factors (nitrogen, phytohormones, elicitors) and 2) produce biotechnologically polyphenols of interest. 


3. Impact of these compounds on Human Health
Several studies have reported that polyphenols could prevent the development of several pathologies (cardiovascular diseases, certain cancers and neurodegenerative disorders) which share the presence of metabolic perturbations like the accumulation of free radicals (oxydant stress) or the chronic activation of inflammatory processes. It must be noted that many polyphenols are only slightly bioavailable and that, after consumption, they are found in the systemic circulation under different forms, mainly glucurono- and sulfo-conjugated.

We are interested in the biological activities of the native molecules from the plant and the wine, but also in the bioactivities of their circulating forms (metabolites which can be produced by hemisynthesis). We aim to evaluate the antioxidant , antiinflammatory and cytoprotective activity of stilbenes in in vitro experiments using cellular cultures, as well as the study of the polyphenols/biomolecules interaction by NMR.

M.I.B. (ex-GESVAB)
Molécules d'Intérêt Biologique

Les activités de l’équipe Molécules d’Intérêt Biologique (MIB – ex-GESVAB) s’articulent autour de trois axes :

1. Analyse des polyphénols de la vigne et du vin 
2. Etude de ces composés en lien avec la défense de la vigne face aux maladies  
3. Impact de ces composés en santé Humaine 


1. Analyse des polyphénols de la vigne et du vin 
   
 
La vigne et le vin sont particulièrement riches en polyphénols. L’isolement et l’identification de ces constituants représentent un challenge scientifique auquel l'équipe MIB propose de répondre. Nous caractérisons différentes classes de polyphénols de la vigne et du vin : les anthocyanes, les flavanols, les flavonols, et plus particulièrement les stilbènes. 
 
Depuis plusieurs années, nos efforts se portent sur le développement de nouvelles techniques d'analyse et de production de ces composés : Chromatographie de Partage Centrifuge (CPC) et autres chromatographies liquides couplées ou non à la spectrométrie de masse ou à la RMN. Ces travaux conduisent d'une part à une meilleure définition des stilbènes et autres polyphénols présents dans la vigne et le vin, et d'autre part, permettent l’obtention de molécules ou d’extraits en grande quantité, utilisés dans la réalisation d’essais biologiques à grande échelle au sein de l’axe MIB ou en collaboration. 
 
De plus, en coordination avec le projet de plateforme VRAI (Vin Recherche Authenticité Identité), nous évaluons la capacité des stilbènes à être des marqueurs de l’authenticité des vins. 

 

       

 
   
 
2. Etude de ces composés en lien avec la défense de la vigne face aux maladies

La vigne est sujette à de nombreuses maladies qui affectent le rendement ainsi que la qualité du vin. Le contrôle des agents pathogènes est actuellement obtenu par l’utilisation intensive de fongicides. 

Pour limiter cet emploi excessif, des stratégies alternatives de lutte doivent être développées. Pour cela, nous privilégions deux approches : 


1) la stimulation des défenses naturelles des plantes. L’impact de molécules élicitrices au niveau des réponses de la vigne est mesurée au niveau transcriptomique et métabolomique, principalement en ce qui concerne les polyphénols (dont les stilbènes). 


2) l’utilisation de molécules naturelles dotées de capacités antimicrobiennes directes. De telles molécules sont d’un intérêt majeur de par notamment leur diversité de mécanismes d’action. Nous portons un intérêt particulier aux polyphénols, dont les stilbènes, extraits de co-produits viti-vinicoles ou d’origine ligneuse. Nous étudions leurs activités biologiques contre certaines maladies de la vigne, principalement le mildiou, mais également l’oïdium et les maladies du bois. L’impact de tels traitements est évalué sur la physiologie de la plante.  


Par ailleurs, grâce à des cultures cellulaires de vigne, nous pouvons comprendre le mécanisme d’action de facteurs environnementaux (azote, phytohormones, éliciteurs, etc.). 
 
Dans un contexte d’agriculture durable, ces avancées sont extrêmement importantes, car elles pourraient permettre de réduire l’impact des pesticides. 

3. Impact de ces composés en santé Humaine
Dans le domaine de la santé humaine, des études ont montré que les polyphénols peuvent participer à la prévention de différentes pathologies (maladies cardiovasculaires, certains cancers et maladies neurodégénératives) qui ont en commun des perturbations métaboliques, comme l’accumulation d’espèces réactives de l’oxygène (stress oxydant) et l’activation chronique de l'inflammation. Cependant, une fois consommés, ces composés sont métabolisés au sein de l’organisme, et se retrouvent alors sous différentes formes dans la circulation systémique, principalement glucurono et sulfo-conjugués.  
 
Dans ce contexte, nous nous intéressons à la biodisponibilité et aux propriétés biologiques des polyphénols. Nous étudions les activités biologiques des molécules natives, mais également celles de leurs formes circulantes (métabolites qui sont produits par hémisynthèse). Ainsi, nous proposons d'évaluer in vitro les activités antioxydante, anti-inflammatoire et cytoprotectrice des stilbènes sur cultures cellulaires, ainsi que d'étudier les interactions polyphénols/biomolécules en RMN.